This might be a stupid question…but does red wine go bad?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Susie 1 week, 1 day ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Dawson

I recently bought a few bottles of wine from WineOnline.ca. I love wine, both red and white (even though I have more red wines than white in my house!)

Unfortunately, I’m no expert when it comes to wine and there’s something I’ve always wondered about…

Does red wine go bad? I’d like to know the answer to both an opened bottle and an unopened one.

Cal

This all depends on a few things. If it is unopened, it depends on how you store it. It also depends on whether it is a quality red wine.

If you store it properly and it is a good red wine that is unopened, then I’d have to say no. It could last decades!

Greg

I heard (and I think it is probably true) that good, unopened red wine can actually get better. I think they call it ageing. I would worry more about an opened bottle. It is probably better to finish off an opened bottle at one sitting.

Michelle

I heard about that too. I read that an opened bottle of red wine will last 2 or 3 days. It’d be preferable if you can finish it the day you open it. Even if you leave it out for too long, this doesn’t mean it will turn into poison or anything.

Greg

Yeah, you could probably still drink it days later. Keep in mind that things might change though. I doubt that you will enjoy it or even want it after a few days. It probably won’t hurt you, but there’s apparently a vinegar-like taste. That would be unpleasant, especially on the palate.

Unopened red wine is a totally different matter. This can last for years. I even read it could last a hundred years! How true that is, I have no idea, but it does appear that it can last and even get better.

Orlando